• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

My First Scope

Guest PM140

Guest PM140

Hi all,

Quite by chance I stumbled on this forum whilst researching for my first telescope; finding a local community close to home (Nottingham) is a really plus and hopefully I can get to some of your meets when I'm setup up :-)

Currently my astronomy activities have been limited to using Star Walk on the iPad and a few shots of the moon with my Canon 550D and 55-250mm lense.

I'm particularly interested in the imaging side, the moon, plants, DSOs (if possible on my budget) and general sky gazing. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to find objects in the sky so I like the look of the GOTO mounts. Also something compact / lightweight so I can stick it in the car.

I contacted Rother Valley Optics and they recommended the Celeston Nexstar 127 SLT (£400), which is pretty much bang on the top of my budget. They said I would need a T - mount, additional £15.

My question is, does this look like a good starting point, are there any other scopes I should consider, maybe a fraction less price wise ?

Thanks in anticipation,

Peter

Hi Peter and first off, let me welcome you to EMS.

:)

I see you are going and jumping right in the deep end and starting off down the road to stress, financial ruin and learning a few new swear words that you never thought you knew (only joking).

Astro photography (AP) is rewarding but can be expensive.  Granted, these things can be done on the cheap but you soon start seeing more and more kit, and the cost soon rises.