• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Battery Chargers

BAZ

I have popped into JTF and they have some of these chargers, which are very suitable for sealed lead acid batteries and power packs.

I have bought three, one of which is already bagged, there are two more left on the shelf, so if anyone wants one, let me know.

Otherwise they can be obtained from this supplier, but I have no idea how good/bad he is.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Motorhomes-Boats-Lawnowers-Car-Motorcycle-12-volts-Automatic-Trickle-Charger-/110816644783?pt=UK_Campervan_Caravan_Accessories&hash=item19cd2fceaf#ht_1871wt_982

Hi Martyn,

Seems like you are the resident battery/charger expert, tea guru, coffee shop magnate and all round top guy :) - This red wine is really good stuff!

I have never used a scope on battery power before, only a 10" LX200 mains powered goto or star hopping with various other scopes. I am thinking of getting a goto scope for dark site use and was wondering about various aspects like battery size (amp hours) and goto scope power requirements etc. I am quite capable of doing the math on this (when not on the wine :wacko: ), but was hoping that you could give me a little general advice from practical experience. Such as a rough guideline for what size battery would power a goto scope for how long. I will probably want to control the scope via laptop, so after the laptop battery expires a substantial amount of power would be required to run that as well. Maybe you have experience of how a laptop would change the equation. In the past in my obsy, I would often do an observing session from dusk till dawn, so I just want to be sure that I will get the right equipment to do the job out in the field, without too much trial and error.

Regards,

Pete.