• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

20x80 binoculars, are there any images that would illustrate their capabilitites?

Guest Drew

Hi all :)

I'm fairly new to astronomy,  relying almost entirely on naked eye sightings other than a set of 8x42's bought for their close focus abilities (garden birds).   I'm looking now to take a further step into sighting and the Celestron Skymaster 20 X 80 Binoculars are an item of interest at the moment.

As I have no real visual concept of what I may expect to see assuming viewing conditions are favourable, I was hoping you might be able to provide images, or links to images that would illustrate the possibilities.

Many Thanks

Drew.

If you don't already know your way around the sky too well, I think that you may not get on with such large binoculars.

Unless you use them on a decent tripod they will be too heavy and you won't be able to hold them still.

The field of view (the amount of sky you see in them) will be quite small. Probably only 2.5 degrees or so. Which means that knowing precisely where they are pointed will be more difficult to reconcile with the naked eye view.

I would think that 10x50s or maybe 15x70s might be a better bet for you.

You can do lots of enjoyable stargazing with a good pair of bins, and they will really help you learn about what's up there. We all still use them even though we have telescopes.

Edited by Tweedledee

Where do you live Drew? I have a pair of 15X70's and for a short period of time they can be hand held, the 20X80's would need a substantial tripod, they weigh around 2.5KG.

You would be welcome to have a squint and see what you think. M44, M45 (Beehive & Pleiades) look stunning through them.

Have a look at Dave JW's posts, he made a parallelogram mount for his out of wood, this makes them much more comfortable to use.