• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

HEQ5 Pro polar alignment with SynScan

Derry

I'm not new to astronomy by any means, having got my first telescope for my eleventh birthday over fifty years ago.  Just recently, though, I acquired my very first GOTO mount, an HEQ5 Pro SynScan and I here I am a complete beginner.

My questions are to do with polar alignment - which I understand is very common and, believe me, I have done my research looking for an answer before coming here.  I know enough to know that the supplied manual is utterly useless in this regard.  The preamble to the questions may seem long-winded, but I'm hoping to find someone with the same setup, and that will help keep the answer short.  I'm sure I'm missing something fairly basic.

NOTE: I have performed the one-time collimation of the reticle with the polarscope axis.  My problem is with the polar alignment that needs to be done at the start of each observing session, to point the polarscope axis to the north celestial pole.

I am performing the alignment using the SynScan hand control, which gives me 'Polaris position' and RA during initialisation.  At the moment I'm using only the rough alignment suitable for visual observing.  I have not tried accurate Polar alignment described in the appendix.  There are plenty of web pages describing polar alignment for these mounts, but I can't find one which describes the process using the specific reticle pattern that my mount contains, which is as follows: