• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hello everyone

Dean Watson

Hi, my name (rather unsurprisingly) is Dean, I live in Cowbit near Spalding.  I've been an amateur pretty much all my life in one way or another (im 48 now) and got into this game pretty much from when my Dad gave me at around the age of 8 or so a load of newspapers and clippings from the Apollo landings (the 50's, 60's 70's space programme is a big deal for me too, as is golden age SF which I grew up with - Although I love all things Sciency like this - Sagan etc are big heroes of mine -, I'm told I'm surprisingly ungeeky when you meet me! - although my partner might beg to differ - I'm very much a child of that optimistic period of Star Wars and the associated telly of the time - a Glen A Larson Production!!! , Gerry Anderson and whatnot...). 

Given all this though my first love is real astronomy - I guess all this stuff is very much in my blood and my way of thinking, while I love (quality) fiction is all its forms I am primarily a rational humanist in much the same way as the aforementioned Sagan, Dawkins etc, although probably with a tiny bit more humility than the latter... 

I'm mainly an imager and like many, while I have a fairly large collection of eyepieces I cant remember the last time I actually used one other that to frame an object for an imaging session...  Tragic, I know!  But then, lets face it, us imagers have always struck me as fairly odd anyway...!