• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hello there

Guest reluctanttyke

Guest reluctanttyke

Hi folks,

i'm new to this stargazing so I thought I'd join up to find out what other people were doing and where i was going wrong (I'm pretty sure I'm doing several things wrong as results so far have been disappointing :().

i've got a Skywatcher Skymax-127 Synscan AZ GoTo Telescope which came with  x10 and x25 eyepieces. At the same time I bought  coloured and moon filters. Since then I have purchased a light pollution filter and a flip mirror, there's a x 1.5 and a x 2 Barlow in the mix as well. I use a Canon 650D for taking pictures and i'm trying, but failing, to get a webcam working. I'm also trying, and again failing, to get Stellarium to control the 'scope (i can get the scope to slew from Stellarium but when I tell it to track the scope just sits there).

Anyway enough of my woes - i just thought I'd say hi, introduce myself and start trawling the forums for possible answers to my issues.

Cheers

Pete

Hi Pete and welcome to EMS. :)

I'm no real imager but you can control a scope via Stellarium if you get the "StellariumScope" free add-on (just in case you're not using that specific download).

http://welshdragoncomputing.ca/x/index.php/home/stellariumscope/about-stellariumscope

Feel free to ask specific questions in the relevant section and you'll soon get some helpful suggestions. Enjoy the forum! :)

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I too am no imager (it's cheating don't you know???)  ;) but I`m sure somebody will be along at some point to offer some assistance.

:)

Welcome to EMS Pete :)

You will get lots of help from this forum, and you're conveniently close to Wymeswold Dark Site :thumbsup:

Welcome to EMS Pete!

We have all been in your position with scopes, eyepieces and other Astro paraphernalia! ?