• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Beginner here :D

Sheila

Well i need a few tips on how to photograph the night sky.... :nonono:  dont laugh.

This is with a normal unmodded DSLR and a tripod ..  no tracking.  I want to try for the Milky Way as I am travelling

to Australia at the end of next week.  Will be in some very dark places.  Just simple advice/tips and exposure info etc would

be appreciated.  Plus some processing advice might be good as I am taking laptop with me.  I do have modded astro camera

but think I will have enough luggage without that :lol:  

Sheila

You're not going to get any useful advice from me Sheila, but I will be looking forward to seeing some of your holiday snaps. Hopefully including some Magellanic Clouds. :thumbsup:

Have a great holiday. :)

Short exposures unless you want star trails

I would try 20 secs or less ISO about 800 but do try others and see what noise is like

stack as many as you can and stretch to taste as normal

darks and flats may help as well

Focus can be a pita unless tethered to a laptop running APT or the other one I cannot remember bakyard EOS ??

Edited by Ibbo

And there's me thinking you had gone visual! Maybe you do need to sneak a look through an eyepiece while the other stuff is doing things.

Have a great time and I can't wait to see how it turns out. Omega Centauri!.........ooh did that come out loud.

Sheila if you want a really lightweight mount to take you are more than welcome to borrow my Adventurer. 

Thanks graham but not thinking of taking anything but camera and a tripod. Won't have time to do a lot so will just try dslr and just normal widefield of the Milky Way if I can 

No probs Sheila. 

Just remember everything is going to be upside down in Australia :lol:

We're expecting big things from you Sheila :)