• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

total beginner

thelord2004

Hi all,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this but I would like some advice

on which is the best telescope to buy first off. 

regards

Hi Simon,

You are usually better off starting with binoculars. There is a lot you can see with them. Telescopes are suitable for looking at details on planets but can take a lot of time setting up. I enjoy taking my binoculars out after dark in summer, with no need for warm clothing. Quite often, I will browse the Milky Way and star clusters while I am taking longer exposures on my camera.

Hope you enjoy your new hobby.

Cheers,

Phil

P.S. The folk on here are very helpful.

Hi Simon and welcome to EMS. :)

It's a bit like asking which is the best car - there's a lot of choice out there, suiting a lot of different budgets, and for many different purposes.

If you'd like a chat and a look at a range of gear then pm me and we can arrange meeting up. Or drop in to the next meeting at one of our dark sites to meet the members and look at a wider range of scopes. Enjoy the forum. :)

Hi Simon.

I always advice buying a half decent pair of binoculars that you can use if you don't take to the hobby. 

Joining a local club is always a good idea, there is a list of local clubs on the forum, and of course you're welcome to join us at our monthly meetings at one of our dark sites. This will give you a chance to have a look at, as well as through some scopes before you part with any cash.

Andy

Edited by tuckstar

As per Andy, start with a pair of 8x50 or 10x50 binoculars and a good book such as Turn left at Orion. Join a club, or come along to one of our meets.