Signing up for the East Midlands Stargazers is really quick and easy. Sign up using your email address, Facebook account or Twitter account, by using one of the buttons below.

Once you've signed up you'll be able to post in the forums to introduce yourself, customise your profile, exchange messages with other members of our community, and attend one of our monthly meetings to meet other members. We welcome members of all skill levels, from the complete beginner to the seasoned veteran of the skies.

seven_legs

Belper Sunday 17th June

seven_legs

Just letting people know that myself and rob will be going to the Belper site tomorrow night about 9.ish as it's looking good for the weather. 

if anyone's going then meet you there.

:)

tony

Bino-viewer

Hi Tony,

You mean Sunday 18th i take it ??

I might be able to pop up for a couple of hours.

It doesn't get dark till 23:00 mind...

seven_legs

Yes. Sorry meant Sunday the18th lol.

Yes we will there about 10ish

See there then:)

Derbyshire Dave

Might pop over for an hour. Looks great!:D

seven_legs

See you there Dave. We be leaving in about half an hour or so

Bino-viewer

Good to meet you both last night Tony and Rob, and to see you again Dave.

Two very impressive scopes you have there too. Thanks for the views through them. Best M57 i've seen for a long time.

My main aim last night was to do some Saturn viewing.

Due to its woefully low southern position at present, i can no longer see it from home, due to trees blocking it out.

But despite the pretty poor seeing conditions it was a pleasure to observe it again. I almost got a hint of Cassini.

I dont think my scope actually reached any sort of thermal equilibrium at all last night, and combined with the poor seeing,

haze, and June twilight it struggled a bit to show much, particularly deep sky stuff.

I was only planning a 2 hour session but it was nearly half one when i got home !