Signing up for the East Midlands Stargazers is really quick and easy. Sign up using your email address, Facebook account or Twitter account, by using one of the buttons below.

Once you've signed up you'll be able to post in the forums to introduce yourself, customise your profile, exchange messages with other members of our community, and attend one of our monthly meetings to meet other members. We welcome members of all skill levels, from the complete beginner to the seasoned veteran of the skies.

Alec

Advice on Astro Photography Setup

Alec

So I've decided that I will follow the DSLR route as I'm quite familiar with the cameras. It seems that Canon is supported the most and will buy a Canon EOS 1000D/XS or similar with live view, and invest in Backyard EOS. I will also invest in a new scope thinking a Achromatic Refractor, what are your thoughts on Evostar 80ED or the Explore ES ED80 Triplet ? With the EQ5 mount fully working, and I can use the ZWO 120MC  as a guide cam should have a workable solution. 

Lots of advise would be welcome before parting with my hard earned cash !!!!!!!!!!!

Ron Clarke

The Canon is a must but have a look at the APT program, it's free and I've started using it instead of Backyard EOS because of it's added features ie: focusing aids, Bahtinov grabber etc..

I'm pleased with my SW ED80 pro and use a finder/guider scope without a problem..

Good luck

Ron

philjay

Canon 1000d have been the stock astro imager for along time, thousands of astro imagers cant be wrong, including me :D I modded mine for astro and that was relatively straightforward but nerve wracking.