Signing up for the East Midlands Stargazers is really quick and easy. Sign up using your email address, Facebook account or Twitter account, by using one of the buttons below.

Once you've signed up you'll be able to post in the forums to introduce yourself, customise your profile, exchange messages with other members of our community, and attend one of our monthly meetings to meet other members. We welcome members of all skill levels, from the complete beginner to the seasoned veteran of the skies.

Daz Type-R

November Monthly Meet - Wymeswold - Saturday 25th - 19:30.

Daz Type-R

All,

The November monthly meeting will be held at the Wymeswold dark sight, Saturday 25th November, start time 19:30.

Tea, coffee and a selection of biscuits will be available, please remember to bring your own mug and £1 to cover the costs of the refreshments.  The £1 entitles you to multiple drinks and treats.

Like previous meets, there will be an opportunity for you to ask any questions, bring any kit you need us to look at, help with collimation ETC, just shout up below so we can bring the necessary kit with us (if required).

No specific agenda this month, hopefully if the sky clears then we will be able to do some observing / AP, so weather permitting, bring your kit.  I have put in a request for clear sky, which no doubt will be ignored!

The moon will be up for the first 2 hrs or so, but will set by 9:45pm (ish), 41% lit so could provide some nice views along the terminator?

A large number of Messier and NGC objects will also be visible, but if clear my November target will be ASASSN (2017 O1), currently a mag 12.9 comet but expected to brighten as the month progresses, close to Polaris but far enough away to not be affected by the brightness.  Looking forward to bagging this one.

Any questions please feel free to ask away and I hope to see a number of you there, any newbies hoping to come along, please shout up and I will post directions / address if required.