Signing up for the East Midlands Stargazers is really quick and easy. Sign up using your email address, Facebook account or Twitter account, by using one of the buttons below.

Once you've signed up you'll be able to post in the forums to introduce yourself, customise your profile, exchange messages with other members of our community, and attend one of our monthly meetings to meet other members. We welcome members of all skill levels, from the complete beginner to the seasoned veteran of the skies.

Daz Type-R

Star Gazing Live - 2018 - we need you..... yes you!

Daz Type-R

Star Gazing Live - 2018 at MPOLE (Malcolm Parry Observatory) - Wednesday 24th January.

Mike and his team at MPOLE are once again offering the general public a bonanza of star gazing treats, timed to coincide with the BBC star gazing live events normally held in January, and they need our help.

Like previous star gazing live events held at MPOLE, EMS members have been on hand to show the general public their telescopes and if the weather permits, the night sky.

I have attended pretty much all of Mike's BBC stargazing live events and its great to see the general public turn out in their hundreds, all showing some enthusiasm for the night sky and astro in general.

I`m putting out this call to arms as we need some volunteers with a variety of telescopes to be on hand to talk to the public about their telescopes and also to show them the night sky (weather permitting of course).

Its a great night, good chance to catch up with like minded folk and bolster some enthusiasm in the general public.

So what I need is the below...........

• Some people willing to be inside, with their telescopes on hand to chat to the public and show off their shiny kit.
  • Some people willing to be outside, with their telescopes on hand to show the public the wonders of the night sky (weather permitting).

Note :- if the weather is bad then we will all be inside.