• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Advice/Suggestions Re:New OTA

catman161

Hi All, 

It's been a long while since I have had time to come on here! I have been dabbling still just in garden at home with both the big setup and smaller grab and go from time to time. Mainly though I have been looking after my daughter and studying for a masters degree in medical science whilst also working full time! 

So i have been doing astro for 6 years now and as some of you may know am mainly into planetary imaging but am partial to visual also. When I first started out I had the 200P mounted on an NEQ6 Pro. I used that in combination with various TV powermates to get some passable Jupiter results in with OSC cameras, mainly the ZWOP ASI120MC.

I was fortunate enough some time ago now to upgrade my setup to A permanently housed (roll off shed) pneumatic pier mounted AZ-EQ6 Pro with an Altair Astro Planeta 250 Truss-Cassegrain OTA which has  native FL of F18! I have the ASI224MC now.

Now as we are all aware the earth is not currently, and won't be for a while in the best position for those of us that like planetary imaging. I have found myself wanting to do more of what I used to do with the mounted 200P, that is more visual stuff. I used to remove all the imaging paraphernalia (Extender/powermate/flip-mirror/camera etc) and pop a TV ethos in the focuser and scan the night skies looking at open and globular clusters. The Planeta is certainly not the best scope to do this type of thing. 

So, what I am asking of you more experienced astro-people is if I am to sell the Planeta, what OTA's should I consider that will tick the box of good for planetary imaging (+/- use of powermates/barlows/extenders etc) but also good for doing a bit of visual stuff as described above?