• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Coloured moon 25-Feb-18

Touring Taurean

Hi all,

I'm just starting out in astrophotography so lots to learn. Took this last night (25-Feb-18) and quite pleased with it as a first attempt.

Taken with a Canon EOS 70D at ISO100, 1/320sec, on a Skywatcher Explorer 150PDS 6" Newtonian f/5 reflector. Single image processed in Photoshop to get colouring then a minor tweak in Registax wavelet 2 to sharpen.

Any thoughts on how to improve gratefully received.

Thanks.

moon true colour registax.jpg

• Like 3

Hi Iain, I am just a visual monkey so cannot help you with constructive criticism, but I know what I like, and I like your image, particularly along the terminator. Nice one! Cheers! ?

Hi Iain, visual here as well, but if you are just starting out, I can't wait to see what you produce when you get better! :D  That's a great image.

For a single sub that is a spectacular win.

The secret is loads of subs /images / frames call them what you will stacked together into a single image. 

By stacking multiple subs you reduce the noise. 

Great - many thanks for the feedback. Much appreciated.

Thanks Graham for the info. I did take some video on my DSLR with a view to stacking the images but I couldn't work out how to import that into Autostakkert as the the DSLR video file format was .mov and AS seemed to not allow that. Assume I have to convert the .mov in some other software before uploading to AS?

Thanks,

Iain

3 hours ago, Touring Taurean said:

Great - many thanks for the feedback. Much appreciated.