• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Guidance needed please

Tweedledee

Been reading up on guiding but would like some further advice please.

Can someone please explain the pros and cons of me using a standalone autoguider (Skywatcher Synguider Autoguider II) or a conventional guider using a QHY, ZWO or GPCAM type setup?

My main priorities here include...
1. Keeping it simple because I have no experience in AP.
2. Minimizing cables as I don't like them trailing around in the dark.
3. Minimizing setup time.

If achieving these priorities involves extra cost, then I consider it value for money.

absolutely no experience using the skywatcher autoguider, but i use a 60 mm altair astro non rotating helical scope and a zwo asi 120 mm camera, my camera is the older type and doesn't like powered hubs, not sure about the newer ones, but a cheap normal non active 5 meter usb cable off ebay sorted that problem out, cost £1.49, using a qhy camera should be fine as i know a few people use them through hubs, the chip is plenty big enough so loads of starts to choose from plus it will screw onto the rear of the guide scope rather than compression fitting which i`m not a fan of, you`ll need to attach the guiding rig to the scope very securely so that there is no movement or flex in the system, once sorted simply start PHD and choose the camera drivers and mount once and press connect, phd will remember the settings so it will be a case on just pressing connect in future and you`ll be running.

Thanks very much Rob. Lots of useful info there and just the sort of guidance I'm looking for. ?

It sounds simpler to set up guiding than I thought it would be. QHY seems reliable and popular with EMS'ers, and now you've pointed it out, screwing it on is definitely good for peace of mind. PHD will also remember stuff better than me. ?