• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

HEQ5 serial disconnecting issue.

Derbyshire Dave

For the last three months I have had issues with my HEQ5 mount, it blew up twice, and this was tracked down to a heater band being wired incorrectly, the 12V being on the outside of the co-ax, which ended up shorting out the Power Supply, the same supply that was powering the mount. Repairs involved the two boards being replaced, afterwards it seems to working generally OK, tracking properly etc etc.

Since I have had it back, things are generally fine, the only issue I have is that when using Sequence Generator Pro (but not Astrophotography Tool !!), the mount will just occasionally disconnect.

I’ve been using SGPro for a few months now, and it has previously always worked fine.

I now seem to get occasional serial drop-outs, and the EQMOD window disappears. Sometimes it runs for hours OK, sometimes it will drop out after an hour or so. I sort of imagine that this happens more often when I’m busy doing other things on the laptop (resources?), but I might be imagining this.

The symptom in SGPro is that the orange connected box (with the chain, two boxes to the right of the “Telescope-EQMOD ASCOM HEQ5/6”) box goes grey, and the EQMOD window closes.

If I click to re-connect, it does so, tracking is off in the EQMOD window, but if I turn it back on, the mount seems to have actually maintained position.

I started a comms log in EQMOD, and these were the last communications I got for one disconnect:-
17:53:08.674 TX :s1
17:53:08.690 RX =1C0501
17:53:08.690 TX :s2
17:53:08.706 RX =1C0501
17:53:08.706 TX :V200
17:53:08.722 RX =
17:53:08.722 TX :q1010000
17:53:08.737 RX !0
17:53:08.737 TX :O10
17:53:08.753 RX !0

It seems that data is no longer being received. I am not sure which end is doing the transmitting and which is receiving.