• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi

Sheila

Hello there,

I expressed a desire for someone to buy me a telescope for my birthday. They did and now I need help!

I am a complete novice as far as practical Astronomy goes. The telescope is an 8" Newtonian with an EQ5 goto mount and various other stuff.

I am having trouble setting it up as the instructions seem fairly useless. Is there anywhere I can go for help or someone to show me how to do this? I would like to do some Astrophotography once I get the hang of it. I've tried looking for stuff on the internet but not had much success with this combination.

Done Astronomy and planetary science to degree level but it was all the technical stuff and no practical.

Thank you

Sheila

Hi and welcome to EMS.

What sort of issues are you having with set up? Is it how to put it all together, or the set up side from the goto?

Regards,

Darren.

Hi Sheila and a warm welcome to EMS :)

We have members very close to your area some of whom I'm sure will offer help - I've helped many new members in the Leicester area. Alternatively you'd be welcome to attend one of our meetings at Sawley or Belper for an initial visit and we'll help get you going. You've got a very nice setup which will do all that you're hoping and more.

Meantime enjoy the forum and pop a few specific questions in the help section and we'll be able to help with anything from finder alignment to taking a photo :)

Hi Sheila, a warm welcome to EMS.

Well you have got a good scope to be going on with, and I don't think it will be too long before you have tamed it.

Iam just up the road at Watnall, so if you want I'll pop over one night and give you a hand if that's any help.

Enjoy the forum and feel free to ask any questions.

Welcome Sheila.