• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi, I’m new! 😊

alis80b

Hi,

This site was recommended to me after I posted my first photo of the moon on a local community Facebook page today.

I am completely new to the hobby and am really interested in astrophotography.

I bought my first telescope and a new camera 2 weeks ago and it has taken me till now to work out how to put it together... and I still can’t do it all! I’ve been watching YouTube videos and am having a Zoom lesson to help.
It’s definitely a lot more complicated than I thought (especially with no instructions). I still need to align the mount and set it up.

I bought:

a Sky Watcher 80ED (with reducer/flattener)

a HEQ5 mount

a Tele vue powermate x5

a smartphone adapter

a celestron power tank

and a Canon Ra

I was assured by the shop that this was enough to get started. 

I literally set up what I could last night and dragged it all outside to take my first picture of the moon! I was pretty impressed! 😍

I’m pleased to have found this site. It looks really helpful.

😊🔭

Hi Alison, a warm welcome to the forum, glad you made your way over. Blimey, straight in both feet then, that's a lot of new kit to get used to off the bat with no real experience.  More so the picture of the moon you took, that was excellent, if that's one of your first images you have right to be proud of it.

Have a mooch round, make yourself at home and feel free to ask any questions you have.

Enjoy your stay.

Hi Alison, welcome aboard. I'm just a visual monkey so can't be of much help, but there are pplanty of imagers on here who are only to willing to help. Have a look around and ask any questions you may have, someone will shout.

Morning Alison,