• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Which telescope?

JohnM

Hello people

I'm new to astronomy and was wondering which scopes people would recommend for around £250, I'm a complete beginner.

Many thanks 

As a result of Covid, many new telescopes are out of stock at the retailers.  FLO even have a web page dedicated to what they do have in stock.

You could also have a look at secondhand stuff, e.g. on the Astro Buy and Sell site.

You might also consider a decent pair of binoculars instead - a limited budget will almost certainly get you a better pair of binoculars than a telescope.

Hi John,

Welcome. Buying your first telescope as a novice can be a bit daunting.

I would recommend First Light Optics first and foremost as you'll be buying online.

Unfortunately, you won't be able to look at anything first as there's nowhere open !!

This link will take you to FLO's website beginners section and will give you a good idea what you can buy with your available budget.

Remember you'll need some extra funds possibly, for things like eyepieces etc.

Good luck with your purchase 🙂

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes.html

Hi John, welcome aboard.

Its worth taking some time to decide what you would like to look at and where you want to go. If you just want to visually see stuff and not bothered about photography or computers then a dobsonian gives you your best bang for your buck and a 200p skylines is about in that price range. They are hard to get at the moment as demand has out striped supply but I suspect the secondhand market will be thriving soon. If you want to get a camera involved then you'll need a good mount and lots more pennies. I love my dob, nice and easy to set up and gives some great views. I would normally suggest having a look at some members kit, but obviously that's not possible at present.