• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

New binos

JohnM

Evening guys

I'm very new to this and it's only my second post, after a the great advise I plumped for some binos over a telescope for my first experience in astronomy. I bought the celestron skymaster 20x70, what kinda objects should I be searching for and see on a clear night with these other then the moon?

Many thanks

Should we ever get some clear skies there are 3 nice galactic star clusters in Auriga that should be visible in binos at this time of year, M36, M37 and M38 but their are many objects to choose from. Try seeing if you can spot Uranus? (Currently close to Mars, but you'll need a decent star chart to pick it out within the local starfield but there are many free planetarium packages that will identify it's position.)

Good choice on binos John, you will enjoy those.

As Clive suggests the Auriga Clusters are nice and high at tge mo. Try M31, the Andromeda Gakaxy, this is akways a good sight in bins.

M42, the Orion Nebula and of course the Double Cluster between Perseus and Cassiopea. Oh and dont forget the Pleiades in Taurus.

Ther,s loads more up there to see with bino,s

Congrats on the bino's. For many years I used an old pair of Carl Zeiss wide angle binoculars.

z6063npm.jpg

I don't know if you have a monopod or tripod for your binoculars.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/DURAGADGET-Lightweight-Aluminium-Binocular-Binoculars/dp/B00MFPC2R2/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&qid=1612637187&refinements=p_28%3ABinocular&s=photo&sr=1-1

https://www.amazon.co.uk/AmazonBasics-WT1003-67-Inch-Monopod/dp/B00FAYL1YU/ref=sr_1_9?crid=4ZR7W47YX9GY&dchild=1&keywords=binocular+monopod&qid=1612638212&s=electronics&sprefix=binocular+monopod%2Celectronics%2C184&sr=1-9

A planisphere can be useful, a bit old school, but still useful. The one on the left I bought while I was still at school.