• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Why should I buy a telescope?

Kurios

Hi all, so as an astronimical newbie I've been scouring youtube and the Internet for beginner info. 

One of the most common themes is start with binoculars (which I have been doing with great pleasure) and the advantages of binoculars are usually - easy of use, broad field of view, inexpensive, probably already own a pair, allows you to see more than the naked eye, can view the planets, more mobile. etc etc. 

All of this is true and as I said Ive been enjoying learning the night sky and the constellations with the help of my trusty Bino's. 

So, the question. Why then does anyone by telescopes if they are less portable, less easy to use, more expensive and so on and so on. When and why should I buy a telescope? 

Edited by Kurios

Because  you can attach  your camera and unlock the wonders of the universe you simply can’t see with the naked eye  mind  it’ll suck you into a black hole and suck all your piggy bank savings in the process , Bino’s are great for wide field view but a telescope will give you a better  closer view you can even buy eyepieces to fit where the camera usually goes too 😆 it all depends on what you want to see .

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

7 hours ago, Kurios said:

So, the question. Why then does anyone by telescopes if they are less portable, less easy to use, more expensive and so on and so on. When and why should I buy a telescope? 

1I8kDzNl.jpg

Depends what you mean by 'less portable'.

RR8srXzl.jpg

I second Grahams answer.