• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

New Member in Leics

Josh Hodge

Good Morning all, 

I’m brand new to stargazing, managed to purchase pretty much a full kit very recently. 

skywatcher discovery 150p with go-to mount. 
skywatcher mobile power station with torch. 
number of eyepieces and barlows

wifi dongle. 

Really enjoying learning the night sky and constellations from the back yard although living in Kegworth with close proximity to junction 24 of the M1 and East Midlands airport the light pollution stinks. 

I managed a trip to surprise view last week which was a huge difference. Saw the rings of Saturn and Jupiter which blew my mind. 

Looking forward to seeing all the help and advice come my way! 

speak soon. 

Josh

• Like 3

Welcome to the forum.  From where you are, you are within fairly easy reach of both of our dark sites; Wymeswold is near Loughborough and Tannenbaum is near Belper.  Keep an eye out for posts on the meetings forum - there may not be much advance notice because the weather is so changeable.  Apps like Clear Outside and Scope Nights are useful but not 100% reliable guides.

See you soon.

1 minute ago, bryand said:

Welcome to the forum.  From where you are, you are within fairly easy reach of both of our dark sites; Wymeswold is near Loughborough and Tannenbaum is near Belper.  Keep an eye out for posts on the meetings forum - there may not be much advance notice because the weather is so changeable.  Apps like Clear Outside and Scope Nights are useful but not 100% reliable guides.

See you soon.

Hi Bryand, 

I live in Kegworth and know wymeswold well due to playing cricket there. It’s about 15 mins drive away. 

I saw on a post from years back that the site is not in use has this changed?