• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Star Chart

Guest Justinshaw

Guest Justinshaw

Was looking out side last night and could see Ursa Major and Cassiopeia, but could I see them on my star chart for August, no I couldnt. made things quite difficult as Im just learning.

Think I need a new one

They will be there Justin, Cassiopeia and Ursa Major are visible all year round from our latitude.

Download the free palanetariums Stellarium or Cartes du Ceil.

Guest Justinshaw

Thanks Mick I will have a look later on

Jjust thought it would be handy to have infront of me while Im looking.

Totaly convinced they were not on this chart, i was sat for ages searching it thinking they have to be there.

Guest Tweedledum

HI Justin,

Have you got any planetarium software??. If not you can download stellarium from :-- http://www.stellarium.org/

It is a free software program, there are others but this is probably the best starter. You can take screen shots and know what you are looking at as it will show the constellation names & markings. If you have a laptop you can set it to night vision mode too!

Best Regards

Damian

Edited by Tweedledum

Hi justin, if you're looking for a good sky atlas I would recommend the Sky & Telescope Pocket Sky Atlas. Absoutely cracking atlas and handy A5 size. Is red light friendly too. I take mine out every time.

Another vote for the pocket Atlas, very useful.

It has loads of information for a small Atlas, and the pages are plasticized, so it doesn't go soggy.

Hi Justin, i have to agree with the others. I have a copy of the pocket atlas and i take it with me to meetings at Gibraltar point. You are more than welcome to have a look at my copy if you are at the next meeting. Try before you buy. :D

Guest Justinshaw