• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Lunar Crack with the Big Mak!

Nightspore

I think you can safely say that was a 'fair old crack' at the moon.

Great report, almost feels like I was there 🙂 

I had to google 'chiaroscuro

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

12 minutes ago, Glafnazur said:

Great report, almost feels like I was there 🙂 

I had to google 'chiaroscuro

Thanks. The session turned out better than I thought it would. It's been a cold April. You can tell I studied some art history lol.

I had to look it up too.....!! 😀

Despite having an Italian brother in law my knowledge of the language is practically non existent.

A good read, and you set the bar pretty high with Lunar observation, and knowledge of what you are looking at.

I wish mine was half as good.

Have you considered insulating your Mak scope ?

Theres quite a growing number of observers, both with Maks and SCTs that use a material called 'Reflectix' - basically a padded foil wrap

that is often used behind radiators to insulate these scopes and lessen thermal issues. I'm not sure if anyone on here has tried it though. But just a thought.

I was also looking a few days ago at a Mak scope myself.

A used Meade ETX 105. One of the American ones.

I'm not sure if it was a de-forked scope of if it was one of the OTA versions. They did make a few like this and are quite rare.

I've never owned a Mak scope and i was a bit intrigued. It was £150 and fairly local. But i didn't make any direct enquiries. Perhaps i should have done ?

• Like 2

15 minutes ago, Bino-viewer said:

I'm not sure if it was a de-forked scope of if it was one of the OTA versions. They did make a few like this and are quite rare.

I've never owned a Mak scope and i was a bit intrigued. It was £150 and fairly local. But i didn't make any direct enquiries. Perhaps i should have done ?