• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

2 inch Baader Semi Apo filter.

oldfruit

I have recently bought a Baader semi apo filter for use with my Evostar 150.

As we all know too well, we are always trying to find ways of improving the equipment that we have and having read many reviews (some good and some not) i thought that i would take the plunge and buy 2 inch version of this filter to enable me to put it into the diagonal to save faffing in the dark when changing eyepieces.

I am no expert but i was under no illusions about this filter from the start. I was not expecting my Evostar used with the filter to perform like a much more expensive scope.

All observation was done with a 12mm BST Explorer eyepiece giving 100x mag.

First target of the night was Vega. Without the filter it does focus to a nice point but there is a very noticable purple halo around the star. With the filter in place Vega still focuses nicely and the purple halo is minimal. It is still there but has been reduced by (i`m guessing) 60% so the view is more pleasing to the eye.

I then tried the double double in Lyra. There was never really any halo with these stars but i wanted to see if the view improved with the filter in place. To my eyes there was a very slight improvement and the gap between the components was visible with and without the filter but i thought the view with the filter just looked slightly sharper, but only slightly.

Albeiro next. I wanted to look at this pair to see if there was any effect on the colours using the filter. The orange star looked more orange than usual with the filter but the blue component was only showing a very slight blue colour, though this was expected as the filter blocks a lot of blue light.