• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hello

ricktom

Hello

i just wondered if any one has got details for the Leicester Astronomical Society or other local groups, i'm new to astronomy and only have a pair of binoculors at the moment and a book from the library to get me started and i would appreciate any help or tips espcially with trying to work out the night sky and where objects are, book recomendations would be most welcome.

Could anyone recommend any dark places in the Leicester area that astronomers use.

Many thanks

Hello and welcome to the forum.

A pair of bino's is the perfect way to start learning the night sky.

Book wise have a look at Turn left at Orion, that's a good book, also look at a star atlas, Sky and telescope do a cracking star atlas.

As for dark sites, we have a dark site that we use at Wymswold (not far from Leicester), your more than welcome to pop along when we are there, the first visit is free, just to see if you like it, then further visits require you to be a dark site member which is £20 a year, which is a bargain!!!!

We also have a dark site up at Belper.

Hope you enjoy the forum, any questions fire away in the relevant section.

Hope to see you at a meet soon, keep an eye on the announcements section.

Guest Tweedledum

Hi There and welcome to EMS. Couple of good books, 'sky & Telescope pocket star atlas' and 'Turn Left At Orion' these provide a quick & easy guide to the sky and will teach you how to find objects by star hoipping.

As you have access to a computer of sorts!, also try Stellarium, this is a free planetarium program and is available as a download from here :--- http://www.stellarium.org/en/

The best way to start learning what is where in the night sky is with a pair of binos and a good book!. Watch online for our meets and come along to see what kit folk have.

Cheers