• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

High magnification with wide field?

Guest Meteoriot

Guest Meteoriot

Hi. Being a beginner I have notice that the smaller mm lens and higher magnification lens you get also seems to reduce the actual viewable area. I am not sure if there is a name for this. I don't actually mean the field of view but I mean the smaller area of lens you have to look view and I find it quite difficult to line up my eye with the lens and the object with the narrow view. Can you get EPs that give high magnification but also allow a larger lens or viewable area of the lens? If so what would you recommend please?

Richard

I may be talking complete rubbish as I'm a beginner still.

Chances are you are using some plossls, most eyepieces other than them will have a wide viewing area instead of it getting really thin for looking into it like a pinhole, I will let others recommend eyepieces, I use a Baader Hyperion Zoom and it's great but theres plenty of eyepieces to choose

I know what you mean - tiny lens to look through doesn't suit me either. A lot of the cheap end eyepieces do this. You'll need to check through the different makes and types of eyepieces to get a feel of what you're comfy with.

Come down to a session sometime and we'll be able to show you quite a few examples of what's available and you can try some in your scope. I now use TV Radians as a minimum cos you do get a good sized lens to peer through. :)

I get them s/h Eddy - usually around £100 - about the same price as a new Baader Hyperion eyepiece - but considerably better imho :)

Guest Meteoriot
I know what you mean - tiny lens to look through doesn't suit me either. A lot of the cheap end eyepieces do this. You'll need to check through the different makes and types of eyepieces to get a feel of what you're comfy with.