• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Cumbrian in Derby!

Guest MoonMan

Guest MoonMan

Hello there

I've been reading the boards for a while and wanted to mention my welcome :)

Astonomy has always been an interest to me and have decided to make it a serious hobby. Looking at the stars just reminds you every time how size is only relative to the observer in the concivable universe.

I moved to Derby in 2005 from Cumbria to which has some amazing skies as well as scenery.

My main equipment consists of a Celestron scope and a Canon EOS which I've been lucky to obtain, so just planetary observations but would love to see a Galaxy when a better scope is needed.

I'm only a beginner and willing to learn from others and intend to visit some Dark Sites etc in the future ;)

Hope to see you out there boys and girls

Chris

Hi Chris,

What scope do you have specifically? You would be surprised what you can see even with a small scope. :)

Welcome to the forums! :)

Guest MoonMan

Hi Craig,

It's a Celestron 114 AstroMaster with some filters.

Just the back garden so far but made some good views of the moon and other planets

Edited by MoonMan

Hi Chris and a warm welcome to EMS :)

Hope you enjoy the forum and you'd be very welcome to join us for a session at one of our dark sites where we can show you any type of object you like through a variety of scopes. You'll get a good feel for what takes your fancy.

Cumbria has beautiful skies indeed - we camped at Keswick a couple of years ago and the views in our scope were amazing.

We get together at either Belper or Wymeswold weather permitting - keep an eye on the Info and Announcements board (EMS Meets section) mostly at the weekends for the next meeting. Look forward to seeing you soon. :)