• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

What's the big fuss about Dobs?

Guest Turtleboy

Guest Turtleboy

As the title says really. I'm new to all this and have just ordered my first scope but I dismissed the Dobsonian mounts fairly early on because of their unweildy size. I have a dodgy back so I figured lugging one around probably wouldn't do me much good. Now I'm wondering if I made a mistake.

I understand that they are very stable and relatively inexpensive when compared to a good tripod mount, but is that all there is to it?

What I don't understand (having never used one) is how you make fine adjustments at high magnification without losing the object you're looking at.  As far as I understand it you simply push or pull the mount to where you want it, but how easy is that to do when you're looking at something light years away? My inital thought is that tracking an object would be a nightmare, but as it seems to be most people's mount of choice I guess I must be wrong.

I ended up going for a goto mount but once I have found my feet I may well look at upgrading, but the size and portability issue still puts me off.

Edited by Turtleboy

Basically you get more bang for your buck. Take mine for example, it cost £375 2 years ago but for that I got a primary mirror size of 8". You pay for the size and quality of the optics and not for any computer wizardry.

Granted, when at high mag you have to constantly keep nudging the scope, where as a GOTO will track it, but you try and find a GOTO system that will have a primary mirror of 8" for less than £400, basically you can't.