• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hello from dark(ish) skies Melton Mowbray

Guest RedDwarf

Guest RedDwarf

Hi folks

I'm new to astronomy having just been bought my first telescope (a Sky Watcher Evostar 120 refractor) by my wife for Christmas. I guess I must have been a good boy last year!

I've been interested in stargazing for a number of years and was into all things to do with space when I was a kid, but this has been rekindled recently through a friend who has a telescope.

I'm still finding my feet at the moment, but have been blown away by what I have been able to see already - Jupiter and the Galilean moons, the Orion Nebula, Pleiades cluster, etc. I'm well and truly hooked!

Really interested in finding out about stargazing events in my local area where I can meet up with more experienced people and begin to develop my skills and experience.

Thanks

Steve

Oh no, this could get confusing! At least you and our other red dwarf don't have the same real name! :D

Welcome to EMS!

That's a nice scope you have there, that should be plenty to help you observe some of the wonders of the sky.

We have a dark site at Wymeswold so if you are interested in observing you're free to come and meet us. Anybody who uses the dark sites repeatedly puts £20 per year towards the cost, but the first visit is always free.

There are also some Astro Societies local to you as well I think?

Hi Steve and a warm welcome to EMS :)

Hope we get to meet you at a dark site session soon for some group observing - as mentioned first visit is free for you to see if you have fun and want to join the dark site group. Keep an eye on the Info and Announcements section "EMS Meets" board for the next meeting - especially at the weekends.