• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Are any of the "cheaper" zoom EP's any good?

Guest Turtleboy

Guest Turtleboy

I would love to get my hands on a Baader Hypeion MK111 zoom, and I know a lot of people rate them but at £180 odd they're more than I paid for my scope.

Does anyone have any experience with any of the cheaper alternatives. Skywatcher do one at about the £40 mark, Celestron about £70 and Meade about £80.

I know you get what you pay for but as a newb I'm just looking for an entry level zoom as an alternative to buying several individual EP's. At this stage I'm not sure what I will get the most use out of so a zoom seems like a good place to start experimenting.

Cheers

Martin

Edited by Turtleboy

I have two of the BST Explorers, and these for the price are very good value. The price has gone up recently, but still represent money well spent.

I have the 12mm and 18mm, and bought them with the intention of upgrading when I could. In truth, unless I spend well out of my budget, Iam not going to better them.

I have an 8mm Baader and that is lovely, but the BST's deliver a view only just behind it. As they are ED glass, and six element they do very well.

I would steer clear of the budget zooms, they have a very narrow field of view, and I don't think you would be happy with it. I had one which I bought as broken, and was able to repair, but I gave it away as it was awful.

Here's a very good guide which should help.

http://www.swindonstargazers.com/beginners/eyepieces.htm

Guest Turtleboy
I have two of the BST Explorers, and these for the price are very good value. The price has gone up recently, but still represent money well spent.

I have the 12mm and 18mm, and bought them with the intention of upgrading when I could. In truth, unless I spend well out of my budget, Iam not going to better them.