• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi. I am new to all this some help required please :)

Guest icetiger22

Guest icetiger22

Hi

I have just bought my son a telescope for his 7th birthday and want to show him some planets and things but have no idea where to point it :unsure:

Its his birthday next week so havent tried it out yet, didnt really know what sort to get so just got the celestron first telescope as the reviews were good.

Is there places too meet or can anyone give me advice thanks :)

Go to www.stellarium.org and download the planetarium software there. We all use it and it will tell where stuff is in the sky at any given moment, give it a try!

Cheers

Ron

Hi Michelle and welcome to EMS

1st thing is you need a clear night which is a rarety these days but when you get one find out where north south east and west are from your viewing area (be it garden or wherever). Use a compass or an app on your phone.

At around 20:00 hours once you have found where south is lookin that direction and look up quite high then look slightly to the west you will see a really bright starlike object, this is Jupiter. Take a look at that with a low power eyepiece 1st and you will be able to see up to 4 of Jupiters largest moons around the disc of Jupiter it like stars in a line and you may be able to see some belts on Jupiter itself.

Thats your 1st target. When the moons up (say next week) try that, it will knock your socks off with the views of the craters

Then as Ron suggests use stellarium or even googlesky app on a phone (I prefer a good astronomy book or atlas) to learn the sky and see whats up there

The main thing is get out there with teh scope and have a look around

Enjoy

Guest skegnesstown.as12