• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Once upon a time.... In Canada :)

Guest dardano

Guest dardano

Greetings everyone !

My name is Frederic Abel and I live in Quebec City, Canada. I work as an IT consultant (network security and telecommunications). I'm 37 years old (38 soon on march 12th).

I've always been passionate about the sky and its wonders since I was young. When I was 10, my father gave me for christmas a red Tasco refractor 60mm. That was my very first steps in learning the skies. I was very pleased with it but at 17 I sold it and wanted something bigger but that never happened and I drifted away from visual observations.

Now I'm settled (house, wife and good job) and want to come back to astronomy in the field. I bought about a month ago a great SkyWatcher Dobsonian 8". That's a beast compared to my old Tasco. I did two observation since then in my backyard ( very light polluted (white)). I waiting for the temperature to warm up a little as winter in quebec can get very cold. -25 celcius is common without the wind factor. I will also need to take my car and go elsewhere to have a better sky.
But when very cold skies here are very stable (less air turbulence) for viewing skies but it's less confortable for people and instruments.

With my dobson came two eyepieces, 10mm and 25mm super plössl. I'm saving money to get a more serious thing. One or two televue Nagler eyepiece.
I will put a azimutal circle in the dobson base and a magnetic digital inclinometer. This way I will be able to use Stellarium azimutal coordonates to find objects.
I also change the OEM finderscope for an Orion 9x50 RACI and also bought a telrad which is very nice for quick positioning :).
I will do the Lazy Susan mod this weekend.