• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Dew control advice

Tweedledee

Looks like it might be time to invest in some proper dew control instead of messing around with 12v hair dryers.

I have no experience of electronic dew control, since I have previously used mechanical dew shields or have been well shielded inside a domed obsy.

I am initially concerned with my corrector plate, but need a system that I can easily expand and build on as and when I need to. With my kit, I suspect that I might eventually end up with quite a few wires :o . I already have a big 65AH BAZ battery so that is a good start.

Getting the right tackle from day one would be good. Looking on the internet I find various different manufacturers systems, and would be very pleased to be pointed in the right direction with any advice on what you think would best suit my needs.

Cheers,

Pete.

hi Pete,

i use one of these,

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dew-prevention/hitecastro-four-channel-four-port-dew-controller.html

which work well and has 4 ports which can be controlled individually, then you`ll need the relevent size/length dew tapes to fit your scope, one for your eyepiece might be a good idea, which leaves you with two other ports available for other equipment. 

you can pay alot for some makes of dew controllers i.e. Kendrick and others but it depends on budget but they all do the same thing.

Thanks Rob.

Do you know if I can run more than four heaters from that unit or would I need extra units to do that?

I can foresee a possible need for up to 10 heaters.

I see it says maximum 5 amps per port, so I presume I could use more than one heater per port provided the total load does not exceed 5 amps.