• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

total beginner clare n william

Guest clare louise

Guest clare louise

hi all totally new to all this. I have a 6yr old son william who is really interested in the planets and stars, my husband and i gave him a basic telescope for christmas; 50mm astronomical telescope from National Geographic has 30-60X magnification. The problem is we have no clue where to begin with it! please can anyone give us an idea where to start?!

ive looked at taking him to an observatory near us in nottingham and they have an open eve next weekend. I dont know if it would help at all? but dont want to go and set up then sit and think ok what do i do now? Is there any groups who could help in beginers giude or such like?

I did take it out once at christmas to try and look at the moon with my son but found it very hard to focus and find anything and my son came in very dissapointed that mummy could not even get the moon! We only went out the front of the house which i know is not great being around so much light! My sons friend at school has one too and they are just as lost. We thought of going to the local park to try together but not sure it will be in a dark enough place to see either. Ive downloaded some of the free apps for my android fone but im still just as lost! any help and instruction would be great thanks all x

Guest Tweedledum

Hi Clare,

Welcome to EMS, there are a few of us around your area I'm sure one will chip in.

Cheers

Guest CodnorPaul