• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hello from (cloudy) Hinckley

Guest gravityguy

Guest gravityguy

Hi all, I thought I would just come and say hello. I've been on stargazerslounge for a few weeks and have learnt a lot so far. I have also recently joined centralmidlandstargazers and went along to their darksite last week for the first time. 

I am totally new to astronomy but have equipped myself with a skywatcher 250px dob. The first night I had I out in the back garden (in the snow and very strong cold winds) I saw Jupiter, pleiades, and orion nebula, all of which were very pleasant. I was especially pleased with the Orion nebula as I could see it as an emerld green colour which blew my mind. The second night was even better and managed to find the leo triple (techincally only M65 & M66) as well as the beehive cluster, castor double and andromeda. 

I would love to come and meet other people at the dark sites and learn more from experienced astronomers. I've really got the bug now (even with this continual cloud cover!)  :D

Mike

Welcome to EMS Mike. That's a nice scope to start astronomy with and will show loads especially from a dark sky site. I always warn those new to astronomy that a dobsonian scope is a steep learning curve but more rewarding if you stick at it as it will teach you more. If you have already found M65 & 66 the you are well on your way. Well done sir! Hope to see you at one of our dark sky sites in the future.

Angus

Edited by angusw2

Guest gravityguy