• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Its time to move on to ccd which camera ?

Graham

Hi all.

Well the dark side has tightened its grip on me so I think its time to start looking towards moving on into the world of CCD imaging.

What I need is your opions and experience on the different cameras out there.

So if you can post up things like.

Camera choice.

Software needed.

Filters ect.

I can then make an informed choice on what I will get.

Many thanks.

Graham

If you have £1200 to spare you could get a brand new Atik 314L+ which is what I'm aiming for. But I've seen them sell in perfect condition and working order under a year old for as little as £650 (that was the OSC). Dunno what the mono goes for but you'd have filter wheels and expensive narrow band filters to buy on top.

I've no experience using one but it seems to be the most recommended camera to start CCD imaging - and other folks results do look good. Stephen or Glider may be able to offer an opinion cos they've both used them. :)

After not a lot if fun messing about with a DSLR which I was just not getting along with, I bought I QHY8L and I'm so pleased with it. It's been a pleasure to use and took a lot less time to get used to than I thought. Last night was my first time trying it out and it was so easy to set up and use. Unfortunately the forecast was again incorrect and the clouds rolled over when they were predicted to clear. All I got was some photos of a distant aerial :)

I've read a lot if crap on certain forums about this camera personally I think QHY have shown a willingness to improve quickly and attend to every criticism. I think the build quality and features on all recent camera make QHY a real contender and worthy of consideration

Edited by Teslar

Guest mickymoo