• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

First timelapse of comet Panstarrs

oldfruit

http://s1277.photobucket.com/user/oldfruit1/media/2029-09-26001_zpsb1811fdd.mp4.html#/user/oldfruit1/media/2029-09-26001_zpsb1811fdd.mp4.html?&_suid=136502743113307622865701679891

I hope this works. I tried this as an experiment after some help from Dawson. It is a bit clunky and could do with some refining but for a first attempt i am pleased with how it has come together.

It is Comet Panstarrs setting, even the neighbours cat made an appearance. :D

I just need to try this at our dark site next.

Edited by oldfruit

I love it!

I love the fact M31 is also so clearly visible again.

I also love the guest appearance of the neighbors cat! That made me laugh every time I watched it.

I think it's a great first attempt. I am by no means an expert at time lapse, but I think they are great, in the day time or at night.

With 'fixed' foreground object, I've found distant ones are good, but near ones which are liable to move every so slightly (like trees, other plants) move a lot in the final image and can be distracting; it doesn't bother me for my pleasure of watching them, but I always worry that movement will distract other people watching the clip. In my back garden it's near impossible to get a time lapse without something in the near foreground.

You managed to keep the camera really still which is great. I've had cats and kids (I don't have kids but my brothers kids) had touched the tripod, and I once set up in a windy location and the tripod was rocking all over the place; in fact the judder in the cloud one I posted in the other thread is down to the wind.

What settings did you use on the camera? How long was the run for and how many frames?