• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi from Belper :-)

Guest dhcol

Guest dhcol

(Sorry about the long post) Hi all I'm new to the forum and to astronomy. I work as a science technician in a school in Derby and was recently asked to source a telescope for our astronomy club, knowing very little about astronomy, I spent an age researching and finding out all I could. In the end with a very tight budget I decided to get a skywatcher skymax 127, and it turned out to be a great little scope for the price and we have had some great views of Jupiter and Saturn when the weather permitted! Before we got the scope I decided to use what I had to hand which was my Binoculars and I was just amazed at what I could see through them I saw Pleiades for the first time and just couldn't believe what I was looking at, I was hooked! so a few nights getting a bad neck from the Binos, I decided to get a cheap Skywatcher firstscope 76 for £20 off of eBay with not to much preconception about what I would see, and have been astounded by that little scope I have seen a few star clusters now and even Saturn through it was quite impressive. So when I finally got to see Jupiter and Saturn through works new scope I couldn't believe it, I got an adapter for the Nikon V1 and we managed to get some great shots of Jupiter, craters on the moon the beehive cluster etc, now looking to get some more clear nights in :-)

Hello and welcome.

I have the skywatchwer 127 and i love it too.

You live in a great part of the country as you are in or very near lovely dark skies; we all suffer with weather issues.

It's good you've got hooked and it's great that you clearly have a passion which i'm sure you pass on to the kids.