• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

last nights atempt .....

Guest billywhizzzzz

Guest billywhizzzzz

I would like to start off by asking you to bear with me , as im very very new to all this .

Anyway got the telescope out last night , thought I would give it a bash , I know the moon was big and bright so not ideal but I thought what the hell, I've only had the scope for a few weeks now and not really had the chance to use it for any length of time , anyway......

I  had about 4 hrs in all , and got to see some of the nights wonders , which are as follows

M92

M13

Ring Neb

NGC 6543

M25

M16 ( JUST )

M11

M31 ( JUST )

M32

M52

M29

M82

M81

msut say though , and yes this may sound like a stupid question , but does the bright moon affect the seeing that much ? only reason I ask is I was a bit disappointed with the some of the views I got  esp. Andromeda , that was just a 15 mm smudge lol ,that said  cheep EPs I have may not be helping , I have a standard Celestron 25 mm plossel that came with scope  and I bought a celestron 7mm x-cel  .

still I had a great time out there till early hrs , in fact im going to do it all over again tonight

steve

Sounds like you did pretty well to me Mike, especially considering the following.

I don't think the general sky conditions helped at all on that night, with some thin high cloud at least from where I live. The moon being big and bright also contributed more than usual. I looked at a light pollution map and see that you are also in the second brightest zone on the outskirts of Lincoln.

Your disappointment with the views is something that we all get in the early stages of this hobby, especially after drooling over books full of wonderful Hubble type images of DSOs.