• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Olly Penrice says Hi.

Guest ollypenrice

Guest ollypenrice

Hi All,

There are at least two good reasons for not acceping me on this forum! One, I now live in the south of Fance and not Wirksworth, Derbyshire - nor do I any longer teach English in Sutton in Ashfield, though I did so for 23 years. Two, I'm 'in the trade' as an astronomy holiday provider so I am keen not to violate any rules regarding publicity etc. If my presence is inappropriate for either of these reasons then I will bow out gracefully. And then, thirdly, I might quote Groucho Marx and say, 'I wouldn't care to belong to any club or society which would accept me as a member...' :D

OK, I'm first and foremost an imager these days, though I was originally not keen on the dark side at all. I studied astronomy for seven years part time via the UCLAN/Liverpool John Moores/Jodrell Bank consortium. I write the odd featue for Astronomy Now and am of an age which allows me to make an exciting discovery now and then again in six months when I've forgotten it again!

Toys include Tak FSQ85ED, TEC 140, 20 inch Dob, EM200 and two EQ sixes, 10 inch SCT and the mighty ODK14/Mesu 2 friction drive/H36. The last lot isn't mine but belongs to Yves Van den Broek, though I operate it here on his and our behalf. In house cameras are Atik 4000s, mono and colour. Oh, and I've a Lunt 60mm solarscope for daylight hours.

Hi to any WOLAS memebers who might have been there at the time I was living in Wirksworth.

Cheers,

Olly

Hi Olly, good to have you board. I have seen some of the pictures you produce and they are wonderful. Think it may be a bit far for you to come to one of our meets but you never know......;)

Edited by Daz type-r

Hi Olly,

A warm welcome to EMS.

Although you don't live in the East Midlands, it doesn't matter, all are welcome.