• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Guest Stuart

Guest Stuart

Hi, I have been trying to find out information about the society and this forum seems to be the only presence on the net I can find. I am a complete novice but am looking to find out more. Can anyone tell me about the society - meetings etc etc? 

We are an internet group not a formal society.

We have 2 dark sites that we visit regularly when weather permits.  One near Belper the other in Wymeswold.

When there is a meet you frist visit is free so you can meet some folks etc.  After that darksite membership is £20 per year.

The forum is free and you will find lots of advice just ask

Welcome

Sheila

Hi Stuart and a warm welcome to EMS. :)

I think you may be confusing us with Leicester Astronomy Society who are based at the Space Center. They don't have meetings in the height of summer due to "seeing" conditions - they recommence around end of Aug / start of Sept. Some of our members are also members there.

For full details contact Dr Ann Bonell who runs Leicester Astro Soc - details here: http://www.astronomyclubs.co.uk/Clubs/Details.aspx?ClubId=25

Meantime - you'd be very welcome to visit an EMS meeting if you enjoy group observing. We are a friendly and fun crowd who get out there with scopes as much as possible when weather allows. Keep an eye on the Info and Announcements section for upcoming meetings. If you fancy a get together for an "astro natter" you be welcome to pop up to Groby and visit me - just drop me a pm and we'll arrange it.

Enjoy the forum :)

Hi Stuart and a warm welcome to EMS. :)