• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

long exposure without guiding

Guest sharpie78

Guest sharpie78

Hi Guys, Just wondering if anyone could give me an idea of how long (roughly) I'll be able to image before having to switch over to guiding please ?

I'm using a Skywatcher 130 Newt with Canon EOS 450D attached, mounted on an HEQ5 pro running off laptop with EQ MOD. 

I have a CCTV CCD camera which is capable of imaging stars very well and DSO's reasonably well by simulating long exposures and stacking them on the fly internally. My intention (eventually) is to attach that to a 9x50 finder and use it as a finderguider. 

I don't want to over complicate things yet by throwing guiding into the mix. I'm still learning how to use the things I've already got so any help with exposure length on my current rig would be greatly appreciated.

Clear skies

Jack 

:)

ps. if i image comet lovejoy while using stellarium to GOTO it.....will stellarium track it ok or will i have to use a specific tracking rate ?

Hi Jack - Mike (Perkil8r) has had great success doing up to 5min subs without guiding - so he would be the one to comment. His PA though is terribly accurate (I have yet to find out how he achieves this).

For imaging comets I've seen that folks use an adjusted rate cos comets move quicker through the night sky than sidereal or any of the standard rates - I guess guiding might a solution there. There may be a comets plugin for Stellarium (similar to the satellites plug in) but you'd have to confirm that cos I've not investigated it. :)

Guest sharpie78

NIce one, thanks for that Kim. I'll rack Mike's brain next time I see him on here. 

My polar alignment is getting there so I'll have a crack at a 5 min sub next time i'm out there and see what happens. Probably get a few streaky stars but hey...trial and error...... :-)