• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Complete beginner expectation advice!

Guest Michelle

Guest Michelle

Hi all

I recently acquired a second hand 76mm inphase reflector telescope that, despite not having any instructions, I have finally managed to get set up and working! It gives lovely clear images of the moon but is this all I can reasonably expect to see with it? I was having a look at Jupiter last night but could only make it out as a small bright disc. Also stars all seem to appear the same, as small pulsating pins of multicoloured light.

I hadn't really planned to buy a telescope but I've always been interested and am now really keen to see some things - am I going to need a better telescope?!

Thanks

Hi Michelle and welcome to the forum.. Stars are always going to just be point's of light, even in a big telescope! They are just like our Sun but millions of miles away, its they're different layouts that are of interest. The Moon is always a good subject as it's views  change daily. Planets are not so easy (even when you can see them!) it all depends on your scope and which eyepieces you are using? But it's a start, I should see if you can get to one of the many 'Stargazing Live' events on this week and look at and through other peoples scopes to give you a better idea of what you can expect to see!

Cheers

Ron 

Hi Michelle and a warm welcome to EMS :)

Stars should appear as small point sources of white light. If you're seeing multi colours that would suggest some kind of chromatic aberration - probably in the eyepieces - I'll bet they're plastic. Pulsating stars indicates poor seeing conditions from atmospheric disturbance - a bit like when you look at the stars naked eye and they sometimes twinkle. It's just a question of waiting for clear undisturbed seeing conditions.