• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Another newbie

Guest Trickydicky

Guest Trickydicky

Hi All,

Just thought I would drop in an say hello

Im an absolute newbie to astronomy but I am in the middle of a very steep learning curve!!!.  After getting my first 'starter' scope a few weeks ago I have well and truley been bitten by the bug! In fact, Im already considering my first upgrade... This could be a very deep (and expensive) rabbit hole Im about to venture down!

welcome to the asylum Richard, wait till you try imaging your pockets will truly be empty then :lol:

Hi Richard and a warm welcome to EMS. :)

I'm sure I've seen you in a film - Pretty Woman wasn't it? :lol:

Guest Trickydicky

Hi Richard and a warm welcome to EMS. :)

I'm sure I've seen you in a film - Pretty Woman wasn't it? :lol:

I only wish!!...My first upgrade would be to something the size of Jodrel bank if hat was the case!!

Guest Trickydicky

Hi Richard, a warm welcome to EMS.

What scope you thinking of upgrading to?

Enjoy the forum. :)

Hi Baz, early days still so still unsure. I currently have a celestron 70mm refractor, f10. 

Its a tricky situation, I want to get something that is a significant enough upgrade but one thats not going to break the bank. I have been looking at a sky watcher 150mm newtonian. The question is though, do I spend extra and get it with a GO TO set up. If this was the case I may need to drop to 130mm due to costs.

Part of me thinks that I should carry on manually to hone my star hopping skills!

The problem is that considering GoTo now means you are dropping the aperture to fit your budget, I would advise you forget the GoTo and get the biggest aperture your budget can then afford.

You want to be looking at stuff, and it doesn't take to much to get used to the night sky, well OK it does, but practise makes perfect.