• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Am I Mad - should I return it?

Toymaster

The other day I was in my local electronics store and in a moment of weakness with vouchers in hand I bought a Celestron 114 EQ Newt on an eq2 mount for just over £100.

It's still sitting in the box while I wonder if I should keep or return it.

Noticed most here buy another well known brand. (very PC here :-))

Quite fancied one of the SW 127s

What do you think?

I know it's not exactly going to break the bank at this px and I am a beginner....

Ade

It'll work fine Ade - but you may have a little problem with the "finder scope" - they don't put very good ones on the smaller Celestron newts and you will probably want to upgrade the finder scope to something more usable.

Personally I would never buy a scope from a high street store - much better to use a proper astro retailer, and we know all the good ones to recommend for you.

The 127's are very nice - especially for imaging planets - and they're not bad to look through either though the views are quite small. I have one if you want to come see it or try it out on a clear evening. Celestron and Skywatcher are the two most popular brands in the "entry level" market as well as doing some very nice advanced gear too. :)

Ade, we've all got things on the spur of the moment. I did that with a Celestron C11 last week.