• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Telescope choice

ricktom

Hello everyone

i was just wondering if anyone has experience of a 

Skywatcher Skymax 127 (EQ3-2) & Sky-Watcher Evostar-120 (EQ3-2)

i have been using a pair of binoculars for a while now with great but limiting views and i would love to see and study the planets and stars, i have spent hours trying to decide what would suit my budget and space limitations and i have got down to these two (are there any pros and cons between the two types) and is the mount stable enough for use with either telescopes, also would people recommend a GOTO system with the Skywatcher Skymax 127 or a manual mount (i have no experience of either i'm afraid)  

I would mostly be watching from my garden that has quite bad light pollution apart from the south & southwest, with this being my first telescope i would like to have something that will hopefully not be difficult to use or maintain (i am slightly put off with a reflector because of this, perhaps unnecessarily),

Many thanks  

Hi, it depends on what you want to concerntrate on? The MAK is ideal for planets and Lunar, the 120 for DSO's etc and a Dob is an eay choice for DSO's etc too.

Goto is a thorney question  :) Do you want to find your targets or look at the targets?? (I am a Goto man, more interested in seeing the object than hunting for it!) so

you see that also is a personal thing. EQ3-2 good starter mount although the tripod legs can be flimsey? If you can get to one of EMS's viewing nights you could check the scopes (MAK127 is popular), mounts ans future eyepieces. Good luck with your choice..

Cheers

Ron