• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Tonight's Moon

Almost looks like the moon is looking at something and saying ooooooh - yes I have a vivid imagination :D

Nicely framed; did you crop it much? It looks good on my phone, though a bit dark. But good to use the opportunity of a bit of clear sky. Good timing. How was the seeing?

Why did you go for ISO 3200 and 1/1600th? Why not ISO 400 and make the shutter speed 1/200th?

Great to see there may be a temporary break in the weather.

Jd

Nicely framed; did you crop it much? It looks good on my phone, though a bit dark. But good to use the opportunity of a bit of clear sky. Good timing. How was the seeing?

Why did you go for ISO 3200 and 1/1600th? Why not ISO 400 and make the shutter speed 1/200th?

Jd

I'm a bit new to this prime focus lark, so I might try different settings. I wanted to make sure I got something before the weather changed again. I did some cropping but it just about filled the DSLR frame anyway. Some frames had bits missing but stacked OK.

Ah i see. Yeah, it can be very changeable this recent weather.

Do you have a live view mode on your dslr? I find that very useful in terms of framing and adjusting settings.

You could probably brighten that whole image up quite easily, but i have no idea how as my processing skills are still awful (as is my laptop).

Inspiring to see others are getting out there despite the weather.

Jd

Jd

I tried your suggestion last night and used your recommended ISO settings and shutter speed and came up with this:

http://s197.photobucket.com/user/PhillipPugh/media/MoonY14FebD10_zpsc92a9407.jpg.html?sort=3&o=2