• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi from Lincoln

Guest nightingale

Guest nightingale

Hello

I am Laks from Lincolnshire and have moved here quite recently . I am from London and I am enjoying the open spaces and l a clear sky (day or night ...where there is no rain ! ) . I am a primary school teacher and at the moment  I am between jobs . I love for astronomy started when I was little . My dad was a nuclear Geo Physics scientist and he had a telescope which I regularly used to use as a kid. I now have my own one ...and I have bought it just yesterday . I got myself a Skywatcher Explorer 130P Supa trak Parabolic Newtonian . I hope I made the right choice. Initially I ordered a Dob Skyliner but after looking at the images of the scope and its disadvantages relating to the size ( heard that  it is fab)I opted for the explorer 130P instead . I hope I have made the right choice . Anyone here has any opinions about this ? I have 7 days to return it .and it is expected to be delivered tomorrow. I am so excited !! I am a new amateur but I am willing to learn ...Are there any clubs in this area where people get together for star gazing ? any new events happening in the coming weeks ?

When I am not teaching ,reading or cooking  I walk my dogs .

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Brantuk

• Daz Type-R

• RonC

• oldfruit

Hello and welcome to EMS.

We have a couple of dark sky sites, one at Belper, one at Wymeswold and then we have another dark site which (depending on which part of Lincoln you live in) may be closer to you which is located at Badger Farm, another sort of sub group (for want of a better term) to EMS is called ELAC (East Lincolnshire Astronomy Club) so they may be your best bet.  They have regular meets, as do we when the weather allows.