• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi everyone

Guest General Cluster

Guest General Cluster

Hi everyone,

complete newbie here: I've always preferred to look up rather than down and have decided to take the plunge even though I suspect this may lead me over to "the dark side!"

Like a lot of people growing up I had a small refractor which was aimed at the moon on a few occasions. I can't wait to see what some decent aperture will reveal.

Sounds like there's a dark sky site 20 mins up the road Minninglow, Pikehall (DE4 2PN) which will give up more than my paved South facing garden!!

In the next week or two my first scope should be on order (after a large amount of unused fishing tackle hits Ebay). In the mean time I'm off into the forum for some advice on a first scope.

Tight lines.

No, hold on: Dark Skies ;-D

Hi, welcome aboard. Never underestimate a south facing vista, that's where the best bits are;-). Get along to a meet if you can before you start spending money. Getting a look and feel for some of the kit available could save you alot of money in the long run. Dark skies are Coming slowly but surely and then everyone starts to come out a bit more.

All the best.

Hello and welcome to the forum.

I see you have a pair of bins already so that's a good start for a nice wide FOV.

With regards to a first scope, I echo what has been said before, are you looking to do visual, astro photography or a bit of both?

That coupled with cost and portability all add up to helping you decide what to get.

If you have any questions fire away in the relevant section and someone will be along to give you an answer.

Unfortunately the forum seems rather quiet these days, I'm sure it will pick up once the long dark nights draw in (I can't wait).

Hope you enjoy the forum.

Guest General Cluster